What are we even doing here…

The truth… is that I’ve always wanted to keep a blog but I’ve never had the time. Well, maybe I have had the time; what I really haven’t had is the balls, I suppose – like the internet is really where I need to be worried about people making fun of me… right.

Anyway. I finally worked up the manhood to buckle down and start writing about something, and what better to write about than the trial and tribulations of a 20 something working a dead-end job for next to no money and trying to survive on his own? I know. You’ve all heard that story before. What really pushed me to start, though, was the idea of keeping absolute strangers in the loop about how I am moving out of my current apartment – which is a sprawling 1300 square feet – and downsizing, in a big way, to a shoebox that is just over 400 square feet. That sounds like an awful decision, right? Yeah, I thought so too… Until I remembered that I would much rather be sticking it out in a place that isn’t much larger than one of those middle school dioramas by myself than sharing some scaled down version of the Taj Mahal with three other people… For the first time in my whole life I will be living on my own. With the exception of my buddy Samson. He can come alone too, I guess.

Now then. Allow me to introduce the cast of this sure-to-be awe inspiring story:

Me! My name is Nick. I am a 25 year old kid faking my way through the workforce. I mean it. My chosen profession is working in HR at a corporate office, doesn’t that make it sound like I should be some kind of professional? You would think so, but the truth is that I would much rather play video games, lay in bed until 11 every morning and eat nothing but pizza and chocolate milk – this is why I could never write a blog about my futile attempts at a weight-loss journey (c’mon… we’ve all done it, don’t judge me).

Robert! My best friend, my partner in crime, my main slice. He’s pretty much the one constant in my life that I can actually count on. He probably won’t like the idea of being mentioned by name… but he deserves it. So you probably want to know if that means we are one of them abominable, sinful, homa-sectual couples. The short answer is yes. And I don’t plan on changing that any time soon.

Samson! My pet pig – well… Technically he’s a Boston Terrier. He snorts, he’s disgusting, and he’s the most adorable thing in the whole world. I’m pretty convinced that we see him as a 19-pound baby and he sees himself as a 90-pound power house. I suppose that is just the way of the Boston Terrier though.

So there you have it. My all-star cast of this thrilling nail-biter. Hopefully someone out there reads this and thinks I’m worth following.

2 thoughts on “What are we even doing here…

Leave a comment